Ssingo win the Masaza Cup Tournament Final

Ssingo win the Masaza Cup Tournament Final

On Sunday, local football enthusiasts across the country joined residents of Ssingo County in celebration after they defeated Buddu County in a nerve-wrecking Airtel MAsaza Cup final that saw Ssingo’s Godfrey Kakooza equalize a goal scored by Buddu striker Frank Ssebuufu. Ssebuufu came on as a substitute for Wilberforce Ssenyonga.

The Kabaka of Buganda Ssabasajja Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi, Airtel’s Managing Director; V.G Somasekhar and Head of Brand and Communications Ms. Remmie Kisakye graced the highly awaited game alongside other sponsors.

Unlimited Internet - Uganda

As the new champions, Singo took home a trophy, gold medals and a cash prize of 10m while Buddu took home silver medals and a 7m cash prize.

The Masaza Cup is an annual tournament that has been played since 2004 and usually features nineteen teams from 19 different Buganda Kingdom regions. Over the years, the tournament has seen former Airtel Rising Stars players such as Farouk Miya, Kezironi Kizito, Sula Matovu and many others represent their clans.

This was the third year that Airtel was sponsoring the prestigious football tournament as part of a Shs1.2 Billion agreement signed between them and the Buganda Kingdom to boost talent among the youth and mobilize people to participate in kingdom development programs using football.

After the game, Airtel Uganda Managing Director Mr. V.G. Somasekhar congratulated Ssingo team and encouraged all the other counties to continue training for next year’s tournament.

“At Airtel Uganda, we aim to make a positive impact on the lives of Ugandans, not only through our excellent telecommunications services but also by investing in activities that bring people from all different walks of life together. Football is one example of those activities,” he noted, adding that “Airtel Uganda is proud to associate with the Buganda Kingdom, especially this year when they are celebrating 25 years.”

Extreme Left is Airtel’s Managing Director V.G Somasekhar with Buganda Kingdom Officials

Gomba were the defending champions of this tournament played by the 19 counties (Masaza) of Buganda Kingdom but this has now changed with Singo defeating Buddu.

Previous Winners:

2018: Ssingo

2017: Gomba

2016: Buddu

2015: Ssingo

2014: Gomba

2013: Mawokota

2012: Bulemeezi

2011: Buluuli

2010: Not Held

2009: Gomba

2008: Kyadondo

2007: Mawokota

2006: Kooki

2005: Mawokota

2004: Gomba

Share This
Verified by MonsterInsights