ACCA Uganda, Deloitte host Inaugural Annual CFO Award

ACCA Uganda, Deloitte host Inaugural Annual CFO Award

The Inaugural Annual CFO Awards were held at a gala dinner on Thursday 19th October 2017 at the Kampala Serena Hotel.

The CFO Award is an initiative that ACCA Uganda and Deloitte co-hosted to raise the profile of Chief Finance Officers (CFOs) and their changing role in developing good business and finance practices. The award is part of the bigger agenda of delivering platforms for learning and experience sharing eg CFO forums, and CFO surveys over the next three years.

Unlimited Internet - Uganda

The CFO award seeks to; recognize the essential role that finance functions play in helping to build resilient organizations, sustainable business models and drive integrated thinking in decision-making.

(L-R) NSSF CFO Patrick Ayota, Stanbic Uganda CFO Samuel Mwogezi, State Minister for Finance David Bahati (Guest of Honour), Head of Audit Deloitte East Africa Anne Muraya, Head of finance and accounts National Medical Stores Edith Kakuba, Strategy and Finance director UBL Alvin Mbugua and head of finance at KCB Uganda Bruno Muhindi pose with their awards during the inaugural CFO Awards held at the Kampala Serena Hotel

Create a platform to share best practice, drive awareness, inspire action and develop a community of finance leaders, committed to create more sustainable outcomes for their organisations.

The target audience is accountants that aspire to this level of leadership as they get to learn and know what it takes to excel in the different categories

The ceremony was graced by key note speaker as well from speakers from the Deloitte Group.

The awards that were given out are:-

CFO of the Year – The CFO of the Year will have shown financial leadership, outstanding performance over a number of years and be the driving force behind the growth and profitability of their organization, striving  for excellence in all aspects of the finance profession. The CFO should lead by example demonstrating leadership through their future-focus and proficiency in the seven vital qualities of professional accountants which include intelligence, creativity, digital knowledge, emotional intelligence, experience, vision, and technical and ethical skills

Public Sector CFO of the Year Award – a CFO form a not-for-profit or charitable foundation, government agency, civil society or development agency, demonstrating outstanding financial management.

Young CFO of the Year Award –  A CFO considered to be a rising star in the accounting profession, aged less than 35 and has demonstrated the 7 vital qualities of professional accountants which include intelligence, creativity, digital knowledge, emotional intelligence, experience, vision and technical and ethical skills.

Finance Transformation Award – This award recognises a CFO who has championed transformative solutions in their finance function and have been successful in redefining the function, made great efforts to become a cost-effective, service-oriented partner to the business.

Strategy Execution Award – The award recognizes one who has shown agility and resilience in dealing with serious and intense changes in the business environment, enabling the business to successfully adapt to new demands and challenges. This CFO will have shown great leadership in creating the right (financial) conditions to execute the organisation’s strategy.

Share This
Verified by MonsterInsights