‘Delete for Everyone’ feature will let you delete recently sent messages
The feature allows you to remove all types of message within 5 minutes
Delete for Everyone will reportedly roll out soon to users worldwide
WhatsApp first tested the feature in a beta version of the app in April
Many of us have sent at least one text or image we later wished we could take back. But thanks to a new WhatsApp feature, the days of regretting an embarrassing message will soon be a thing of the past.
The messaging service is releasing a new ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature that will let you unsend messages.
Users will only have five minutes from when the message is sent to delete it, and only messages that haven’t been opened by the recipient can be removed.
THE ‘DELETE FOR EVERYONE’ TOOL
Delete for Everyone will work on all types of WhatsApp messages, including texts, images, videos, GIFs, documents, quoted messages and Status reply.
Users can delete these messages within five minutes of sending them.
But if this time window is missed, the message will stay. Users will not be able to delete any messages that the recipient has opened, even within the five-minute limit.
WABetaInfo, a London-based Twitter account that tests WhatsApp update early, announced that Delete For Everyone is in the final stages of testing and will be ‘available soon’.
WABetaInfo said: ‘WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: The server finally works and it successfully recalls the message.
‘Also if the server works, this does not mean that the feature is currently enabled.
‘It will be remotely enabled later, and seen that WhatsApp ‘enabled’ their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon.’
Delete for Everyone will reportedly work on all types of WhatsApp messages, including texts, images, videos, GIFs, documents and Status reply.
Users can delete these messages within five minutes of sending them, but if this time window is missed, the message will stay.
Rumours suggest users will not be able to delete any messages that the recipient has opened, even within the five-minute limit.
The highly anticipated feature, originally called ‘Recall’, was first seen in April, when it was tested in a Beta version of the app.
The feature was included in the code for version 2.17.30 of the app, but Whatsapp has still to enable it.
The beta version tested in April also had other changes, including a new ‘change number’ feature, which allowed users to more easily recognise a contact if they’ve got a new number.
This feature could be released alongside Delete for Everyone in an update soon.
WhatsApp has not officially confirmed the new feature, and is yet to respond to MailOnline’s request for comment.