BusinessIn PicturesNewsSportsTechnology

It’s back: 2019 Masaza Cup launched

Kabaka to grace Airtel-sponsored Masaza cup opening

Kampala: For the fourth consecutive year, Airtel Uganda has once again joined the Buganda Kingdom to launch the Masaza Cup tournament at a press conference held at the Buganda Kingdom offices in Bulange Mengo.

In attendance at the launch were Airtel Uganda officials were led by Head of Brand and Communications Ms. Remmie Kisakye and Buganda Kingdom officials led by First Deputy Prime Minister Owek. TwahaKawaase, Minister for Youth, Leisure and Sports in the Kingdom Owek. Henry Ssekabembe and other sponsors.

The Masaza Cup is an annual Buganda Kingdom tournament that has been played since 2004. It usually features 19 teams from 19 different Buganda Kingdom regions. 

Speaking during the launch, Ms. Kisakye confirmed that Airtel Uganda will support the prestigious tournament with shs400 million this year.

“We have spent three years as the title sponsors of the competition and every year we support the competition with shs400 million. This competition has been a birth place for many stars on the national team. This prestigious tournament has given rise to many stars like Tony Mawejje, Diego Hamis Kiiza, Mike Serumaga, Robert Odongkara, Brian Umony, Joseph Ochaya, Pius Wangi, Yasser Mugerwa, Miya Farouk and Godfrey Walusimbi” she noted.

Owek. Kawaase called upon everyone in the respective counties to give support to their teams so as we have a successful football competition.

“I would like to confirm that his Majesty the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II will preside over the opening game between Ssingoand Ssese on 1st June at Mityana Ssaza grounds” he added

The 2019 Masaza cup groups

MASENGERE GROUP: Ssingo, Bugerere, Buvuma, Gomba, Ssese

BUTIKKIRO GROUP: Buddu, Mawogola, Mawokota, Bulemezi, Kooki

MUGANZIRWAZA GROUP: Busujju, Kabula, Kyaggwe, Butambala

BULANGE GROUP: Buwekula, Busiro, Kyadondo, Buluuli.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button