International Cricket Returns to Kenya this week, Nepal arrives   

International Cricket Returns to Kenya this week, Nepal arrives  

Nairobi, Kenya; Kenya’s return to international cricket gathers momentum with the arrival of the Nepal cricket team yesterday.  The visit marks a return of hosting international sides, after a decade, with a five-match T20 International series followed by three one-dayers to be played at Nairobi Gymkhana Cricket Grounds.

 This is Nepal cricket’s first visit to Kenya. The series will get underway on Thursday, August 25 at 1pm EAT.  Entry to all games is free.

Unlimited Internet - Uganda

Kenya’s national cricket team returned home last week from Jersey where they played in the last of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Challenge League B fixtures. Won by Jersey with 18 points, Kenya tied with Uganda and Hong Kong on 12 points, with Italy in 5th and Bermuda in 6th place.

Nepal have named a star-studded squad with star leg spinner Sandeep Lamichhane as their captain. Players Gyanendra Malla, Shahab Alam, and Bibek Yadav have marked their comeback to the national team, whilst young wicketkeeper-batter Arjun Saud has earned a maiden call-up to the national side.  Nepal had a dismal campaign in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2 and will hope to turn the tables against Kenya.

Shem Ngoche will lead the national side which includes a few experienced cricketers capable of causing upsets. Motivated by their recent success in Jersey where Kenya beat the hosts, Uganda, Italy and Bermuda, this series may well be the impetus to mark a new dawn in Kenya’s cricket history.

All the matches in the series, between Kenya and Nepal, will be available for telecast and streaming all over the world.  Kenya/India – Vu Sports (YouTube), US/CANADA – Willow Tv (TV and App), Nepal – Action Sports TV.

Full match schedule below.

Full results of all matches will be available on

Kenya vs Nepal – Full Squads

Kenya: Shem Ngoche (Captain), Alex Obanda, Sukdeep Sigh, Irfan Karim (wk), Rakep Patel, Collins Obuya, Sachi Budhia, Nelson Odhiambo, Emmanuel Bundi, Eugen Ochieng, Vraj Patel, Elijah Otieno, Lucas Oluoch, Nehemiah Odhiambo.

Nepal: Sandeep Lamichhane (Captain), Rohit Paudel (Vice Captain), Aasif Sheikh (Wicker Keeper), Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dev Khanal, Aadil Alam, Karan KC, Gyanendra Malla, Sompal Kami, Basir Ahamad, Arjun Saud (Wicket Keeper), Pawan Sarraf, Shahab Alam, Kishor Mahato, Bibek Yadav. Reserves: Jitendra Mukhiya, Bhim Sharki, Pratish GC, Hari Shankar Shah

Full Schedule

T20I Series: Time 1pm
Thursday, August 25, 2022 – 1st T20I – Nepal vs Kenya
Friday, August 26, 2022 – 2nd T20I – Nepal vs Kenya
Sunday, August 28, 2022 – 3rd T20I – Nepal vs Kenya
Monday, August 29, 2022 – 4th T20I – Nepal vs Kenya
Tuesday, August 30, 2022 – 5th T20I – Nepal vs Kenya

One Day Series: Time:  10am
Friday, September 2, 2022 – 1st One Day – Nepal vs Kenya
Saturday, September 3, 2022 – 2nd One Day – Nepal vs Kenya
Monday, September 5, 2022 – 3rd One Day – Nepal vs Kenya

Share This
Verified by MonsterInsights