Frank Tumwebaze’s take on the new EC Team

The Minister for ICT and National Guidance Hon. Frank Tumwebaze has given his view on the new Electoral Commission team led by Justice Byabakama.

President Yoweri Museveni has today nominated six people for Electoral Commission. They are Chairperson: Justice Simon M. Byabakama, Deputy Chairperson: Hajjati Aisha Lubega, Member: Peter Emorut, Member: Stephen Tashobya, Member: Prof. George Piwang, Member: Mustapha Ssebagala Kigozi. The president has forwarded their names for Parliamentary consideration and approval. Below is Frank Tumwebaze’s take on the new EC team;

Frank Tumwebaze
Frank Tumwebaze

“It’s a well selected team. Those who all along were clamouring for a high court judge whose integrity was tested by the judicial service commission, there they have him in Justice Byabakama. From his long service in public prosecution to being appointed a judge speaks volumes about his competence and integrity. Hon Tashobya while in Parliament steered very well the legal affairs committee and would always ensure that consensus is built in his committee despite the varying political beliefs of members. We all knew him as a consensus builder and a unifier.

Madam Lubega a long serving educationist will bring to the commission many good years of experience in institutional management and administration. Our brothers and sisters of the Islam faith got well represented there. It’s a good team that I am sure will act as an impartial umpire. Let politicians stop using the EC as a scape goat when they fail to win the hearts of the citizens”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button