Electoral Commission Concludes Nomination of Candidates for Omoro County By-Elections

The Electoral Commission has declared twelve (12) candidates duly nominated to contest in the Parliamentary and Local Government Councils by-elections in Omoro County, Omoro District.

The nomination exercise commenced on Thursday 12th May and closed Friday 13th at Omoro District Council Hall, Omoro. The exercise was presided over by the District Returning Officer, Mr. Moses Kagona.

Six (6) candidates, namely, Onen Jimmy Walter (Independent), Odonga Terence (Independent), Tolit Simon Akecha (National Unity Platform), Kizza Oscar (Alliance for National Transformation), Ojok Andrew Oulanyah (National Resistance Movement) and Odong Justine (Forum for Democratic Change) have been nominated to contest for the seat of Directly-elected Member of Parliament.

Lalam Florence (National Resistance Movement), Lawino Franka (Independent), Aneka Christine Teopista (Uganda People’s Congress), Ayo Mercy (Forum for Democratic Change) and Laboi Margret (National Unity Platform) have been nominated to contest for the District Woman Councillor representing Lalogi/Lakwaya Electoral Area.

Oryema Terence (National Resistance Movement) was declared elected unopposed for Male Councillor for Older Persons representing Acet Town Council.

Campaign meetings will be held from Monday 16th May to Tuesday 24th May 2022 with polling scheduled for Thursday 26th May 2022.

The Omoro County Constituency Parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of the former Member of Parliament and former Speaker of Parliament, the Rt. Hon. Jacob L’Okori Oulanyah in March this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button