EC announces dates for Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS)

The Electoral Commission will issue Voter Location Slips (VLS) to voters across the country to enable them conveniently locate their respective polling stations on polling day.
The issuance of Voter Location Slips will commence countrywide on Monday 4th January 2021 at each Parish/Ward across the country.
The VLS is a response by the Commission to complaints raised in the past elections, where some voters reported difficulty in locating their polling stations. It bears the particulars of a voter, namely: photograph, names, date of birth, and location (that is, the district, constituency, sub county, parish and polling station). The VLS also bears a unique barcode which will be read by the Biometric Voter Verification machines which will be deployed at all the 34,684 polling stations across the country.
The VLS will be used by voters at four rounds of elections during the General Elections (2021) namely; at the Presidential/Parliamentary; District/City Chairpersons and Councillors; Municipality/City Division Chairpersons and Councilors; and Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division Chairpersons and Councillors elections.
Please note that this Voter location slip (VLS) is free of charge and should only be picked by the actual voter in person from the Parish/Ward Supervisor who is an employee of the Electoral Commission.
The Commission calls upon all registered voters to collect their Voter Location Slips from their respective Parish Headquarters. Voters are further advised to carefully secure their Voter Location Slips, so that the barcode is not tampered with.
Please note that only a person whose particulars appear on the Polling Day Register will be issued a VLS during this exercise. However, the Voters’ Register is the primary document for the purpose of polling. Accordingly, a voter whose name is on the Voters’ Register but is unable to produce a VLS on Polling Day will be allowed to vote.
This was confirmed by Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission Uganda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button